South Goa

South Goa is one of the two districts that comprise the state of Goa, India. The district has an area of 1,966 km² and a population of 586,591 (2001 census). It is bounded by North Goa District to the north, Utara Kannada District of Karnataka state to the east and south, and by the Arabian Sea to the west.

The Portuguese established a colony in Goa in 1510, and expanded the colony to its present boundaries during the 17th and 18th centuries. Goa was annexed by India on December 19 1961. Goa and two other former Portuguese enclaves became the union territory of Goa, Daman and Diu, and Goa was organized into a single district in 1965. On 30 May 1987 Goa attained statehood (while Daman and Diu became a separate union territory), and Goa was reorganized into two districts, North Goa and South Goa.

See the beautiful city of South Goa with hoppa and our low cost door to door transfers.

Hopping on from South Goa

Collect your luggage

Get your ride

Arrive happy